General Information

Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens must check with the jurisdiction where the firearm is to be used.

In California, the Sheriffs and their staff are required to follow strict state and local guidelines when performing the necessary background checks for issuing Carry Concealed Weapon licenses. Due to the detailed nature involved with conducting these background checks, appointment times and processing times can take multiple weeks. During the application process, the applicant will be asked to schedule an interview appointment for a new Carry Concealed Weapon license.

If the applicant is RENEWING a Carry Concealed Weapon license in Riverside County, they may not apply until 90 days before the expiration date listed on their current Carry Concealed Weapon license.

 

Pricing:

Type of Permit Standard 2 Year Judicial 3 Year RCSO Employee Custodial 4 Year Custodial 4 Year Reserve 4 Year

Initial Fee
Paid on submission of your application

$115.00
(DOJ Fee - $95.00
Sheriff Fee - $20.00)
$137.00
(DOJ Fee - $117.00
Sheriff Fee - $20.00)
$139.00
(DOJ Fee - $139.00)
$159.00
(DOJ Fee - $139.00
Sheriff Fee - $20.00)
$159.00
(DOJ Fee - $139.00
Sheriff Fee - $20.00)
Issuance Fee
Paid upon the approval of the application
 $80.00  $80.00  $0.00
 $80.00  $80.00
New Fee Breakdown DOJ Livescan Fee - $95.00
Sheriff's Fee - $100.00
DOJ Livescan Fee - $117.00
Sheriff's Fee - $100.00
DOJ Livescan Fee - $139.00 DOJ Livescan Fee - $139.00
Sheriff's Fee - $100.00
DOJ Livescan Fee - $139.00
Sheriff's Fee - $100.00
           
Renewal Fee $77.00
(DOJ Fee - $52.00
Sheriff Fee - $25.00)
$99.00
(DOJ Fee - $74.00
Sheriff Fee - $25.00)
$96.00
(DOJ Fee - $96.00)
$121.00
(DOJ Fee - $96.00
Sheriff Fee - $25.00)
$121.00
(DOJ Fee - $96.00
Sheriff Fee - $25.00)
Duplicate/Modification Fee $10.00 $10.00 $10.00 $10.00 $10.00

 

  • For credit card transactions a nominal credit card transaction fee will be charged for each transaction. Charges will be viewable prior to transaction completion.
  • Appointments for Concealed Carry Weapon licenses will be processed between Monday thru Friday.
  • Click the appropriate button on the left of the screen to proceed with an application for a Concealed Carry Weapon license.

 

Gaining competency with firearms is like learning to drive a car or fly an airplane. You need expert instruction and practice. There is no shortcut. If you are not willing to invest the time and effort to become competent, then having a firearm and trying to use it can, in many instances, be more hazardous than any impending threat.

 

Please note that this website is optimized for IE 9.0 and higher, Safari, Chrome and Firefox.

CCW Information



Concealed Carry Weapon License Requirements: must meet ALL requirements

Completing the Application

Answering all the questions on this standard application does not guarantee the issuance of a Carry Concealed Weapon license. The determination whether to issue the license is at the discretion of the licensing authority. Pursuant to California Penal Code section 26160, each licensing authority will have a written policy summarizing their requirements for issuance of a Carry Concealed Weapon license. In addition, prior to issuing a Carry Concealed Weapon license, the state statutes require proof that:

  • The applicant is of good moral character;
  • Good cause exists to issue the Carry Concealed Weapon license;
  • The applicant meets residence requirements; and
  • The course of training prescribed by the licensing authority has been completed.

The following pages include standardized questions to determine whether a Carry Concealed Weapon license shall be issued.

The applicant will certify under penalty of perjury that all answers provided in the application are true and correct to the best of their knowledge and belief. The applicant will also acknowledge that information disclosed on this application may be subject to public disclosure.

Training Required

If applying for a NEW Carry Concealed Weapon license, a 8-hour firearms training course must be completed prior to issuance.

If applying for a RENEWAL Carry Concealed Weapon license completion of a 4-hour firearms training course is required prior to issuance.

If applying for a firearms AMENDMENT a scanned copy of the qualification certificate is required.

You can complete your training at the Ben Clark Training Center or you can go to one of the approved list of instructors - Click here for complete list. If you attend training/qualification at a facility other than the Ben Clark Training Center, you must submit your certificates with your renewal application before being approved. If you choose Ben Clark Training Center as your training facility, the certificates and qualification sheets are generated there and they will be added to your application once they are received from the range staff. Your required training must be completed before being approved.

Authority

California Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 provide that a Sheriff of a county or the Chief or other head of a municipal police department of any city, or city and county, may issue a license to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person (Carry Concealed Weapon license).

Who May be Issued a License

The licensing authority specified in Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 (a Sheriff or the Chief or other head of a municipal police department) may issue a license to persons who are of good moral character, who have completed a course of training, and have good cause for issuance of a Carry Concealed Weapon license. All applicants for a Carry Concealed Weapon license will be Live Scanned and state and federal records will be checked to determine if they are eligible to possess firearms. 

Prior to Filling Out This Application

  • Be prepared to scan a copy of your valid California driver’s license, or state issued ID, which has your current address in Riverside County.  Your state issued ID must have your current residential or mailing address.
  • Copies of two of your most recent utility bills or any other sufficient proof of your full-time residency within the County of Riverside as indicated on your application.
  • Copy of your birth certificate and/or naturalization papers.
  • Copy of military discharge DD214 form, if applicable.
  • Be sure that each firearm you are listing on your Concealed Carry Weapon license is registered to you or your spouse/registered domestic partner.
  • If you have already completed your CCW firearms safety course and Sheriff-mandated weapon(s) qualification, please provide your training certificate and qualification scores.

Business Applicants

If you are applying for a CCW license for business-related use you must provide the following information in addition to the Instructions for All Applicantslisted above.

  1. Copies of any licenses required by local, state and/or federal business and professional codes. It is your responsibility to make sure that you have complied with all licensing requirements. Applicants who operate a business from their residence should check with their local jurisdiction regarding business licenses.
  2. Partner(s)/corporate offices statement providing authorization. Partner letter should state if partnership dissolves they will notify this office immediately upon separation.
  3. Employer authorization (on company letterhead) specifying duties and/or assignments, which establish need. Employer letter must state they will notify this office immediately upon separation or the need no longer exists. Any restrictions the employer may wish to impose on the license must also be stated.
  4. Employee’s last two paycheck stubs or other proof of employer-employee relationship.

For More Information, Contact:

Riverside County Sheriff's Department

Address: 16791 Davis Ave., Riverside, CA 92518

Telephone: Phone: (951) 486-2856
Email: ccw@riversidesheriff.org


Website: http://www.riversidesheriff.org

 

For Technical Support, Contact:

Permitium Software
Email: help@permitium.com
Phone: (855) 642-2453